Cracow School of Theoretical Physics

Zakopane, Poland

since 1961

Cracow School of Theoretical Physics

Cracow School of Theoretical Physics Logo

The Cracow School of Theoretical Physics is organized yearly since 1961 in Zakopane, winter and summer resort town located in the High Tatra Mountains approximately 100 km south of a historical city of Krakow, a former capital of Poland. The main idea of the School consists in reviewing the important results in particle physics, both experimental and theoretical from last year or two. The talks are mainly theoretical, however, reviews of experimental results are also presented.

Therefore, strictly speaking, it is not a school in a pure meaning of this word. Historically this formula of the School was dictated by the fact that it was much more difficult for the Polish scientists to travel abroad than to invite a few foreign speakers to formerly communist Poland. In present times of high specialization this formula surprisingly turns out to be still successful. It gives an opportunity of informal discussions and information exchange between scientists working in different areas of particle and theoretical physics.

Theoretical lectures usually consist of two talks (45+5 min.each). The first talk includes an introduction aimed at the Ph.D. students, experimentalists and theorists working in other fields. Experimental lectures focus on the physical results and interpretation, rather than on experimental setup and detector details. Seminars (20-30 min.) are meant for young scientists to present their original work. Students are encouraged to give a seminar during the School.

Lecture sessions are arranged in the mornings and in the evenings. Afternoons are left free for discussions. One day during the School is free and one can use this time either for hiking in the High Tatra Mountains or for a one day trip to the historic city of Cracow.

The written version of the lectures is published as a regular issue of Acta Physica Polonica B.
At this link you can find mostly quoted articles published in the School proceedings in the chronological order.

The School is organized by the Departments of Theoretical Physics of the Marian Smoluchowski Instutitute of Physics of the Jagellonian University of Krakow in collaboration with other institutions from Krakow: Henryk Niewodniczanski Institute of Nuclear Physics, AGH Technical University and Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences.