62. Cracow School of Theoretical Physics

62. Cracow School of Theoretical Physics
15. MCnet School
Monte Carlo Methods in High Energy Physics

To protest the criminal atrocities in the aggressive and unjustified war initiated by Russia against Ukraine, on March 1, 2022 Poland suspended scientific collaboration with the Russian Federation. Following the decision of the Rector of the Jagiellonian University, which suspends cooperation with Russian universities and research centers, the organizers of the Cracow School of Theoretical Physics together with the MCNet decided not to accept participants with affiliation to institutions from the Russian Federation.
We also would like to express our support to the members of the Russian scientific community who reject this invasion.

June 19-25, 2022
Zakopane, Tatra Mountains, Poland

Conference bus to Zakopane, see here

Important dates:

  • 22 February 2022 - registration opens
  • 1 May 2022 - registration closes
  • 19 June 2022 - arrival in the evening
  • 20-24 June 2022 - lectures and tutorials
  • 25 June 2022 - departure after breakfast

Topics include:

  • Introduction to Event Generators
  • Parton Shower, Matching and Merging
  • The future and challenges of HEP
  • Model-independent measurements
  • Monte Carlo simulation of FCCee physics
  • Aspects of the EW Standard Model
  • Highlights from Run 3 of the LHC
  • Machine Learning in HEP
  • Industrial applications

The School is organized by:

in collaboration with:

co-financed by:

Cracow School Advisory Board:

  • Andrzej Białas (Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences and Jagiellonian University, Cracow)
  • Janusz Chwastowski (Institute of Nuclear Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Cracow)
  • Larry McLerran (Institute for Nuclear Theory, Seattle)
  • Robi Peschanski (Institute for Theoretical Physics, CEA, Saclay)
  • Mariusz Przybycień (AGH University of Science and Technology, Cracow)
  • Anna Staśto (PennState University)
  • Raju Venugopalan (Brookhaven National Laboratory)

Scientific Organizing Committee:

  • Stefan Gieseke (KIT)
  • Stefan Prestel (Lund University)
  • Marek Schoenherr (Durham University)
  • Andrzej Siódmok (Jagiellonian University)

Local Organizing Committee:

  • Wiesław Płaczek (Jagiellonian University)
  • Michał Praszałowicz (Jagiellonian University)
  • Elżbieta Richter-Wąs (Jagiellonian University)
  • Andrzej Siódmok (Jagiellonian University)

For further information and registration use indico web page

Financed by the Polish Ministry Education and Science, and European Union - Horizon 2020